Nick Lemoine

Director, Barts Cancer Institute at Barts and the London School of Medicine and Dentistry (London, UK)

Professor Nick Lemoine is the Director of the Institute of Cancer at Barts and the London School of Medicine and Dentistry, and leads the Barts Experimental Cancer Medicine Centre. Professor Lemoine is an international expert in pancreatic cancer and much of his work focuses on this disease.

As Lead for the Centre for Experimental Cancer Medicine, Professor Lemoine is responsible for the management of a 40-strong team who support over 120 clinical trials currently open at Barts.

Nick Lemoine was Professor of Molecular Pathology at Imperial College London (UK), where he was Director of the Cancer Research UK Molecular Oncology Unit and the first Director of the National Translational Cancer Research Centre at Hammersmith Hospital. Professor Lemoine trained in medicine at St Bartholomew’s Hospital Medical College where he qualified with the University of London Gold Medal in 1983, specialising in pathology and oncology with posts in London and Cardiff.

Professor Lemoine recently stepped down as Chairman of the MRC Clinical Research & Career Development Panel and the National Institute of Health Research Clinician Scientist Appointments & Review Panel. He previously chaired the MRC Stem Cell Fellowship Panel, the CR-UK Clinician Scientist and Senior Clinician Fellowship Panel and the MRC Experimental Medicine Review Panel for the Molecular & Cellular Medicine Board. Professor Lemoine has been a long-serving member of the Gene Therapy Advisory Committee at the Department of Health, as well as CR-UK Science Funding Committee, MRC Molecular & Cellular Medicine Board and CORE Scientific Advisory Board.

Professor Lemoine has been the Editor of the Nature Specialist Journal Gene Therapy since 1997, and his research into the molecular genetics of cancer and gene therapy is funded by programme grants from Cancer Research UK, Digestive Cancer Campaign and the European Union. Professor Lemoine was elected a fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences in 2006.